July 14, 2023

CGA Faculty Members Receive 2023 Climate Change Initiative Award

The NYU Climate Change Initiative recently announced the recipients of the 2023 Climate Change Initiative awards, where 10 teams were selectively awarded $125,000 to promote and conduct new research, activities, and innovations.

CGA Associate Dean and Clinical Professor Carolyn Kissane, and  CGA Research Faculty and Director of the NYU SPS ECJS LabAmy Jaffe, were featured as recipients of the "Understanding Energy Transitions" award. Along with fellow faculty Stephen Gross (FAS History), Andrezej Ancygler (NYU Berlin), and Maya Vinokour (FAS Russian & Slavic Studies), they will assemble political science, sociology, economics, history, and cultural criticism experts to explore energy policies, historical energy shifts, political coalitions, and cultural contexts to accelerate the transition away from fossil fuels. 

NYU's Climate Change Initiative is aiming to spark a university-wide effort to bring research experts and scholars together in a collaborative approach to expand our understanding of climate change and explore strategies to mitigate its harmful impacts. These awards will promote a diverse range of collaborations, producing effective research and innovation in the process. 

Congratulations to recipients Carolyn Kissane and Amy Jaffe!

Related Articles