Schack Institute of Real Estate
Urban Leadership Award Dinner
DATE May 8, 2019
LOCATION The Plaza, New York City
COST $1000
Contact Sonal Pande or call 212-998-6961
DATE May 8, 2019
LOCATION The Plaza, New York City
Contact Sonal Pande or call 212-998-6961
COST $1000

Dear Friends of the NYUSPS Schack Institute,


The NYU School of Professional Studies (NYUSPS) Schack Institute of Real Estate is pleased to invite you to the 48th Annual Urban Leadership Award Dinner, to be held on Wednesday, May 8, 2019 at The Plaza in New York City.


We are delighted to share that Wendy Silverstein, chief investment officer of WeWork, will be honored with this year’s Urban Leadership Award. Silverstein currently serves in a senior management role at WeWork, focusing on real estate and real estate-related transactions, including capital markets transactions, for the company and its affiliates. Prior to joining WeWork in August 2018, Silverstein served as president and CEO of New York REIT and was responsible for the successful liquidation of the company pursuant to the shareholder approved plan. Previous to New York REIT, Silverstein was executive vice president and co-head of acquisitions and capital markets for Vornado Realty Trust, one of the largest owners of commercial real estate in the United States, from 1998 to 2015. Silverstein currently serves on the boards of Alexander’s Inc. and TPG Real Estate Finance Trust, in addition to chairing the Finance Committee for Beit Ruth, an educational and therapeutic village for at-risk teenage girls in Israel.


Established in 1971 by Larry Silverstein, the Urban Leadership Award recognizes members of the industry who have made exceptional contributions to the real estate sector and the communities in which they develop and invest. It is the highest honor conferred by the Schack Institute of Real Estate. Proceeds from the dinner support critically important scholarship and financial aid programs as well as a range of special initiatives, including curriculum innovation, global field intensives, and diversity recruitment.


Sam Chandan, PhD FRICS
Larry & Klara Silverstein Chair in Real Estate Development and Investment;
Associate Dean, NYUSPS Schack Institute of Real Estate

Sponsorship Opportunities

In addition to support for student programming, sponsorship of the dinner offers a high level of visibility with the industry’s most senior leadership. Attendance at the dinner typically exceeds 500 people from across sponsoring firms and their guests. For inquiries about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Sonal Pande, assistant dean for alumni relations and fundraising, at or call 212-998-6961.


Event Inquiries

For registration inquiries, please contact the conference staff at

Dinner Committee

Larry Silverstein, Silverstein Properties

Rob Blumenthal, Deutsche Bank Securities
Marty Burger, Silverstein Properties
Sam Chandan, NYUSPS Schack Institute of Real Estate
Adam Emmerich, Wacthell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
David Greenbaum, Vornado
Greta Guggenheim, TPG Real Estate Finance Trust
Jimmy Kuhn, Newmark Knight Frank
Robin Panovka, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Scott Rechler, RXR Realty
Craig Robinson, WeWork
Darcy Stacom, CBRE
Brian Ward, Trimont

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

2019 Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

2019 Bronze Sponsors

Premier Sponsors

Abram Roy LLP
Ashner Family Foundation
Davis & Gilbert LLP
Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
Debra Millman. Esq.
Deutsche Bank
Dune/Angelo Gordon

Essex Capital
Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation
Morgan Stanley
RXR Realty
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Vornado Realty

Supporting Sponsors

The Fascitelli Family Foundation
Latham & Watkins LLP
Anthony Orso
James Oswald, Deloitte Tax, LLP
Nina Roket, Partner, Olshan Frome Wolosky

Honorees Prior to 1984

Virgil Conway

Seymour Durst
Harry Helmsley
Benjamin D. Holloway
Benjamin Lambert
John Larsen
Sylvan Lawrence
Alton Marshall
Richard Ravitch
Frederick P. Rose
Lewis Rudin
Larry Silverstein
Charles Urstadt

Honorees From 1984

1984 Glen Coverdale

1985 John R. White
1986 Frank Bryant
1987 Laurence Tisch
1988 Sheldon Solow
1989 John L. Tishman
1990 Brian J. Strum
1991 Richard J. Strum
1992 Arthur J. Mirante II
1993 Claude Ballard
1994 Howard Rubenstein
1995 Stephen M. Ross
1996 John E. Zucotti
1997 William Rudin
1998 Richard B. Saltzman
1999 Mortimer Zuckerman
2000 Stephen B. Siegel
2001 Daniel Brodsky
2002 Lower Manhattan Companies
2003 Douglas Durst
2004 Lee Neibart
2005 Bruce Ratner
2006 Mike Fascitelli
2008 Deluca, Strum, Somers & Silverstein
2011 Mary Ann Tighe
2012 Mitchell Rudin
2013 Scott Rechler
2015 Robert Blumenthal, Robin Panovka & Adam Emmerich
2016 Glenn J. Rufrano
2017 Marty Burger
2018 MaryAnne Gilmartin